AuthorChat with Blue Stour & Kathleen Brooks

People become authors for several reasons. Some become professional writers because of an impression made by another author, an interest in reading, a tremendous story-telling ability, or just a passion for writing. Still others, from boredom?

Boredom?

Don’t you just hate it when that four-letter word, W-O-R-K, interferes with your daydream?

After graduating from the University of Kentucky’s School of Law, the NY Times & USA Today best-selling author became a lawyer and boredom ensued. The married mother of one daughter, . . . three dogs and a cat . . . was soon-after bitten by the writing bug.

“I was a lawyer; I wrote a lot of boring things,” the Southerner said when asked why she became a writer.  “I had always loved to create stories in my head, but legal briefs interrupted any time I thought about putting them on paper. Then I had this one really great story that just wouldn’t leave my head, but I erased it after one-third was completely on paper because it sounded like a legal brief.  I finally cleared my mind and just told my story. Once I turned it on, I couldn’t turn off the voices. I can’t imagine doing anything else now but writing.”

Just as she claimed her story-telling ideas leisurely took her from the real world, her mostly romantic and suspenseful writings, mixed with comedy, are doing the same for readers.

“I receive so many nice notes from my readers who are in pain or sick.” Brooks said. “They all claim the books give them a nice break.”

Bluegrass Series                                                Bluegrass Brothers Series

Bluegrass State of Mind                         Bluegrass Undercover
Risky Shot                                                   Rising Storm
Dead Heat                                                   Acquiring Trouble

Relentless Pursuit

Secrets Collide

Final Vow

The woman whose grandfather used to think she’d be the first female president says there’s nothing like being a writer. Many authors go through phases of, “This sucks; I’m getting a different ‘job!’” with their author role.

Not Brooks.

“Writing in my pajamas instead of writing legal arguments in an office is a dream job,” Brooks added with an obvious smile. “To steal from Happy Gilmore, you have to find your ‘happy place.’”

Brooks also mentioned her best way to get out of a writers-blocked scene. Instead of thinking on it all day, the author whose favorite author is Jane Austen because Austen’s books “paved the way for modern romance,” talks it out. . . . to anyone or anything.

“Even my dog will listen,” she added. “The point is to talk it out. Explain it. Don’t be afraid of the delete button, either!”

Brooks welcomes contact from readers. She can be reached several ways.

Website:  http://www.kathleen-brooks.com

Email:  Kathleen@Kathleen-Brooks.com

Facebook:   www.facebook.com/KathleenBrooksAuthor

Twitter: @BluegrassBrooks

Sincerely,

Blue Stour

Along with THE Sidda Lee Rain, B.S.  makes up 1/2 of the erotic romance Tag-Team Champions of the WORRRRRRRRRRRRRRLLLDDD!!! Their Game Time Series is where Sex & Sports collide.   LIKE on Facebook:  www.facebook.com/bluestourandsiddaleerainImage

3 thoughts on “AuthorChat with Blue Stour & Kathleen Brooks

  1. Kathleen Brooks is a wonderful author the first author I read. Her books are amazing bringing romance and crime together. I love hearing when a new book is coming out. Now that the Blue Grass Series is done I’m excited to find out what she has in store for all of us readers.

Leave a Reply

